Search
Generic filters
Filter by Product categories
Art & Jewelry
Books Movies & Music
Downloads & Digital Trade
Fashion
Services & Other
Tech & Toys
Health & Beauty

This policy sets out the policies and procedures of Silky Road with respect to the retention, archiving and deletion of data, whether in hard copy or digital form, and including personal data.

If you close your Silky Road account, you’ll no longer be able to sell on the site or access My Account on Silky Road. You’ll also lose your feedback as well as your purchase and sales history.

Before closing your account, consider contacting us first. We don’t want to see you go, and we’ll do everything we can to sort out any issues you may have.

You don’t have to close your account to stop selling; simply remove your seller’s account. If you still want to close your account, make sure:

  • All your fees are paid and your account balance is zero
  • You don’t have open bids on an item
  • You don’t have any outstanding payouts to be processed to your bank account or in pending status if you’re a managed payments seller

Tip

If you have any active suspensions or restrictions on your account, or if your account doesn’t currently meet our minimum seller performance standards, you’ll need to contact us in order to close your account.

What you need to know about closing your account

When you submit a request to close your account, we’ll send an email to your registered email address and to your  Messages within 24 hours letting you know we’ve received it. Generally, it takes 30 days to close an account from the date we receive a request. However, if you’ve bought or sold items in the 30 days prior to submitting your request, we’ll keep your account open for 60 days from receiving your request so any outstanding sales or purchases can be completed and so we can meet our commitments to all buyers and sellers under the Silky Road Money Back Guaranteed 

After the 30-day or 60-day period (depending on whether you’ve bought or sold in the past 30 days) your account will be permanently closed and your data will be deleted. If you change your mind during the time it takes to close your account, you can contact us and ask to have it reopened if your account is in good standing.

For security reasons, you can’t transfer or sell your Silky Road account to a new owner. However, you can add a secondary contact to your account.

Personal data on closed accounts

The right to have your personal data (including personal information) deleted depends on privacy regulations which vary by country and region. For example, the General Data Protection Regulation (“GDPR”) identifies the right to have your personal data deleted, also known as the “right to erasure,” subject to certain exceptions. At Silky Road, we extend this right to delete your data to all users regardless of a country or region’s regulation.

When you send a request to close your account, your personal data will also be deleted as long as your account is in good standing.

Silky Road deletes personal data using approved methods such as encryption, pseudonymization, and aggregation. For your part, you’ll need to clear cache, cookies, and history from each browser you used to sign in to your Silky Road account. If you downloaded any Silky Road apps on any of your mobile devices, you’ll need to delete those too.

Unless you’ve reconsidered and would like to keep your account, and as long as your account is in good standing and none of the exceptions listed below apply, your account will be closed and your data will be deleted within 30–60 days of receiving your request. To keep your account, your account must have been in good standing at the time your closure request was submitted. Suspended or restricted user accounts will be closed, and we’re unable to allow you to reopen the account.

When we’ve closed your account, we’ll let you know by sending an email to your registered email address. If you’d like to use Silky Road again, you’ll need to create a new account.

Closing account and personal data deletion exceptions

We can’t close an account and/or delete associated data if:

  • Your account has an outstanding balance
  • You have pending transactions (i.e. open bids, pending payments, outstanding payouts to be processed to your bank account or pending status if you’re a managed payments seller)
  • Data related to an account needs to be retained to detect, prevent, mitigate, or investigate fraudulent or illegal activities
  • Data related to an account needs to be retained for a purpose required by applicable law
  • There is a public health issue
  • A subpoena or other court or legal order compelling Silky Road to retain certain data is in place

If data can’t be deleted for any reason, it will be retained in accordance with our Privacy Notice.

Please contact us for help closing the account of a deceased Silky Road member.

Closing your account will result in the closure of all Silky Road businesses associated with that account which rely on the same identity.

Tip

Once you’ve submitted an account closure request, you won’t be able to access your account or use it to buy or sell on Silky Road.

Add address

Shop By Category

Help & Settings